Skip to main content

Lee County Library: Home

Welcome to the Lee County Library's home on the web!

Search Collection

NC LIVE

Search NC LIVE

Money as You Grow books are here!

Lee County Library is participating in the Money as You Grow program sponsored by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.  The Money as You Grow program is a family financial education program that uses children's books to help families learn key money concepts through reading, play, and quiet one-on-one talks.

Each book in this collection has a reading guide you can take home and keep!  If you are among the first to visit this collection you can get a folder and stickers, too!

The books are a permanent part of our collection and are easy to identify with a green "M" sticker across the top of the spine of the book.  Visit us today to learn more about the program!

NC LIVE eBooks Search

Search eBooks

New Books!

New Services

Online payments now accepted!

Image result for logos for mastercard visa and discover card

             

   

 

 

 

 

 Lee County Library now accepts Mastercard, Visa, and
 Discover card payments for fines and fees for a small
 convenience fee. A charge card can be used for a
 convenience fee of $1.95 and a debit card can be used for a
 convenience fee of $1.00. Patrons can pay online from
  home or at the desk at the main library.  


   

Need to fax or scan a document? Use you credit/debit card @ the library.

Home Grown eBooks

Lee County Library and other libraries in the state have joined together with NC LIVE in a project called Homegrown eBooks. At least ten NC publishers are part of this launch project. Many eBooks written by NC authors are available. The books will have MARC records and be part of our catalog. For best results, users will need the latest version of Google Chrome or Safari. Chrome and Safari are available as free downloads. Users of other browsers are able to access the collection but may experience technical issues.

Access via the BiblioBoard Library App
The BiblioBoard Library app is available for iPad®, Kindle Fire HD®, Nexus tablets® and Galaxy Tab® (4.0+) mobile devices.
Step 1: Visit the BiblioBoard website using the NC LIVE link above. 
Step 2: Click on the yellow "tablet" link in the upper-right corner.
Step 3: Create your own user account.
Step 4:  Download the appropriate app and login using the account information created in step 3.

June 2017 Lee County Library Newsletter

Lee Reader Book Club

Come join the Lee Reader Book Club for a lively discussion of the chosen monthly book title. The club meets every month on the third Tuesday at 6:00 pm at the Lee County Library at 107 Hawkins Ave. in Sanford. This book club reads both fiction and nonfiction books. 

211- Get Connected. Get Answers.

http://www.nc211.org; http://www.leecountyunitedway.org

Lee County now participates in the 211 Get Connected, Get Answers assistance system. This is currently the most comprehensive listing of services available to county residents. If Lee County residents need services for food, housing, employment, health care, child care, volunteer opportunities, crisis intervention, and/or legal assistance, the main source for assistance is via a 211 call to the 211 website, or United Way of LeeCounty. All information is free, confidential, and available 24 hours a day. Lee County 211 is staffed with agents who speak several languages.

Meet Author Mark Riddle! July 24 at 2pm!

On July 24 at 2pm in the Library Auditorium, we are pleased to present author Mark Riddle.  Mark is a Youth Services Librarian with a colossal beard!  He was born in Australia, and has also lived in Taiwan and Turkey.  He resides here in North Carolina right now, but is shortly moving West!  Please visit us and welcome him as he reads his first book called Margarash!

 

Your Library Account

Click here to access your library account!

Here you can view, renew your checked out items, or request a hold on materials!

 

Robert has left us!  We wish him the best!  But until his position is filled Computer Classes will be on hiatus until further notice.  Keep checking back with us for further details!

Solar Eclipse Program - July 27, 2017 3:30 pm@ your library

 

 

On Monday, August 21, 2017, a total eclipse of the Sun will be visible in the continental United States. This total eclipse will occur midday between noon and 1:00 pm. The sky will darken like twilight. The path of totality will only be visible on a track stretching across the United States from Oregon to South Carolina. Other areas will see a partial eclipse. No other country will get to see the total eclipse this time. Lee County Library was  selected to distribute the glasses after providing programs about eclipse safety.

The program dates are July 27, 2017 at 3:30 pm and will be advertised in the newspaper and on our website, www.leecountync.gov/library. The public should attend a program to learn how to safely view an eclipse before receiving the special glasses.  Looking at a solar eclipse with the naked eye or with regular sunglasses will cause eyesight damage or blindness. Like now we should not look at the sun directly.  Plan to use safety eclipse glasses. For a list of the 10 best places to view the total eclipse visit https://www.greatamericaneclipse.com/best-places-to-view/ In NC, the Great Smoky Mountains is one of the top ten places.  Learn more about eclipses at www.livescience.com/32671-whats-a-solar-eclipse.html .

 

 

Ancestry Classes

An online genealogy resources class will be held on Monday July 17, 2017 10-11:15 am. Join us for an informative session about Ancestry Library and HeritageQuest searches in the library. Call the library to register.

NCKnows - Get All of the Answers You Need 24/7

Chat loading...

Grant Writing Classes!

Learn about how to find and write Grants!

On August 2, 9, and 16, Lee County Library will host a 3-part Grant Writing Program. Participants will learn where to look for money and how to write grants for their non-profits, government agencies or anyone interested in learning how grants are done.

Our host, Irene Smith, is involved with many local charities and has raised a lot of money for them through her grant writing know-how.

Classes will be in the Library at 10am on August 2, 9, and 16. Interested participants please visit us at the library and sign up!

SIGN UP NC READS - Lee County Library will hold many Summer Reading Programs June- July

     

Look under the heading Youth Services for dates and Summer Reading Program information!

 

 

e-Books from Overdrive and NC Kids Digital

 


eBooks

The newly designed website is available at https://e-inc.overdrive.com/. The availability of each ebook is stated at the top of the book cover.

Children's ebooks pre-K to 4th grade are now available on NC KIDS DIGITAL. The General Assembly funded $200,000 worth of downloadable children's ebooks for grades pre-K to 4th grade that can accessed using your library card and a device. Additional funding was made available through a LSTA grant and donations from NC public libraries.

The Lee County Public Library is now participating in Overdrive's ebook and Audiobook collections as part of e-iNC. Download ebooks and audiobooks to your computer, cell phone, iPod, or ebook reader (including Kindle). The collection includes current popular titles and will continue to grow each year.  You just need your library card number, PIN, and internet access to get started! It is easier than ever with our hosted proxy settings.

Book Review

 

 

The Wonderful Things You Will Be by Emily Winfield Martin. Random House, 36 pages. $17.99, 2015

The author has created a cute inspiring book  for youngsters. All parents with a new child want the best and most wonderful things for their child as this children’s book demonstrates. The word choices make the book easily accessible to preschoolers. Children are encouraged to be nice, smart, and adventurous, to take care of the small, and to help things grow The author’s oil paintings beautifully illustrate the book in an old Alice, Jerry, and Jip style reminiscent of the 1950’s.  Check out this book for a fun bedtime story.

Does your child fall in the homework gap?

Para la traducción española

Learn Another Language for Free!

This tool is a great way to learn new languages for FREE!  This resource is provided by NC LIVE.  A Lee County Library card is required to access this resource.

English, Chinese, Spanish - Start learning today!